Charged With DUI ?
Get Help Now With A Free Consultation
Unfortunately, California’s legal process provides no guarantees, and although the potential consequences can be evaluated, there is no way to tell whether any particular defendant will be ordered to serve the maximum penalties allowable under California law. There is no way to determine how a judge and/or prosecutor will handle your case. There are a countless number of variables that can affect the outcome of a person’s case. Those worried about what consequences they may face as a result of their charges should consult with a skilled attorney. A conviction for driving under the influence will affect each person differently, as there are some professions and organizations that treat these offenses more seriously than others.
Call us today at (888) 250-2865 to obtain a free case evaluation and find out how a conviction could affect your situation.
For many, dealing with the aftermath of an arrest is terrifying. Unlike some other crimes, driving under the influence is frequently committed by persons with no criminal history. Usually, those arrested for drunk driving in California are brought into the police station, booked, and forced to stay the night. These situations can leave a lot of people shaken up, and the thought of spending more time in jail and/or prison is enough to go into full blown panic mode.
For first time DUI offenders, California carries a minimum of forty eight hours in jail and a maximum of six months, or 180 days in jail. If your circumstances put one or several people in harm’s way, or you accidentally harmed someone during your incident, your judge may try to “teach you a lesson” and order you to spend months in jail. Spending months in jail for a first time offense where there was no collision and/or injuries is rare, but not unheard of.
The following are circumstances that regularly affect the court’s decision on whether or not to send a DUI defendant to jail:
Minor Passenger/s in Your Vehicle
Were You involved in a Collision?
Are You Facing Additional Criminal Charges?
Were You Extremely Drunk?
For some, the financial burden of a DUI is their biggest concern, and with good reason. Even without factoring in attorney fees, the financial cost of a DUI is outrageous. Some believe that the massive costs associated with DUI offenses help deter people from driving while under the influence. Whether or not this is the case, the financial burden of a conviction in California can hold people back from accomplishing their goals. Few people have back up funds prepared to deal with situations like driving under the influence, and it is not uncommon for a family’s personal savings to take a serious hit following an offense.
Keep in mind that the numbers provided will not apply to every person. The information is provided on California’s court info website:
$40,000 in auto insurance increase
$650 for DUI Classes
$140 a Day Towing and Storage
$100 for DMV Reinstatement
Total Estimated Cost for DUI with Two Day Tow and Storage: $40,904.00
In addition to potential time spent in jail and costly fines, those who are convicted of driving drunk in California can suffer other penalties as well. Some employers will not hire persons who have a DUI on their criminal record. If you have a felony DUI conviction, there are several opportunities that you may no longer be able to take advantage of. Consult with one of our DUI lawyers to find out how this can affect your personal circumstances.
Those facing charges do not have to go it alone. Call (888) 250-2865 today to obtain a free consultation and case evaluation from a drunk driving defense lawyer at the Law Offices of Randy Collins. Their attorneys will work tirelessly in your favor to help produce a positive case outcome.