5 Questions to Ask Your DUI Lawyer in California

dui22_250x167Thousands of DUI cases are processed each year. Here are some of the top DUI Q & As:

1. Are you required to take the field sobriety test?

In the state of California, this is not mandatory. However, you will be required to take the chemical blood test. New changes to DUI laws call for the blood test to be the first choice amongst urine, breath and blood tests for alcohol detection. Failure to comply with the chemical test means one year’s automatic suspension of the driver’s license.

2. Are there charges if you test under the legal BAC limit of .08%?

If the driver is under the age of 21, then yes. California’s zero tolerance policy subjects minors to the following under California Vehicle Code 23140:

  • 1st time offenders: $100
  • 2nd time offenders: $200
  • 3rd time offenders: $300

3. Do Out of State DUIs count as prior offenses in the State of California?

The answer is yes. Check with your DUI lawyer now to see if wet reckless driving counts as a prior DUI offense.

4. Does DUI Include Jail Time Sentences?

California Vehicle Code 23152 makes it a crime to drive under the influence of drugs and alcohol. The penalties may include jail time, fines, or a combination of both. Other penalties include probation, DUI School and suspension of driver’s licenses.

5. Are There Opportunities for Plea Bargains?

With the help of an attorney, drivers arrested for DUI can negotiate with the prosecution team to lower charges to one of the following: wet reckless driving, dry reckless driving, being drunk in public, traffic infractions.

If you’ve been accused of DUI, the Law Offiecs of Randy Collins is ready to provide you the DUI Defense services you need, including plea bargains, alternative sentencing, disproving former chemical tests, or dismissing your case. Call at (888) 250-2865.